American College of Bankruptcy



Officers

D. J. (Jan) Baker Chair Michael L. Cook President Mark D. Bloom Vice-President Hon. Barbara J. Houser Vice-President Richard E. Mikels Vice-President Albert A. Koch Treasurer Marc A. Levinson Secretary

Board of Directors

Corinne Ball Michael St, Patrick Baxter Hon, Mary Grace Diehl Joseph A. Dworetzky Robert M. Fishman Hon. Robert E. Gerber David A. Lander E. Bruce Leonard Stephen D. Lerner Thomas E. Lumsden Prof. Charles W. Mooney, Jr. G. Blaine Schwabe, III Edwin E. Smith Grant T. Stein Howard J. Weg

Ex Officio Directors David G. Heiman Paul M. Singer R. Patrick Vance *Chair, ACB Foundation*

Board of Regents

G. Christopher Meyer Chair, Board of Regents Daniel C. Cohn (1st Cir.) Marc Abrams (2nd Cir.) Karen A. Giannelli (3rd Cir.) Benjamin C. Ackerly (4th Cir.) Charles A. Beckham, Jr. (5th Cir.) Judy A. O'Neill (6th Cir.) Ronald Barliant (7th Cir.) Lloyd A. Palans (8th Cir.) Jeffrey H. Davidson (9th Cir.) David E. Leta (10th Cir.) Roberta A. Colton (11th Cir.) James L. Garrity, Jr. At Large Hon. Elizabeth L. Perris At Large Prof. Charles J. Tabb At Large

Scholar-in-Residence Prof. Douglas G. Baird

Counsel William J. Perlstein

Executive Director Shari A. Bedker November 23, 2012

Office of the United States Trustee (EOUST) 20 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W. 8th Floor Washington, D.C. 20530 Email address: USTP.Fee.Guidlines@usdoj.gov

Re: USTP Fee Guidelines for Attorney Compensation in Larger Chapter 11 Cases

Ladies and Gentlemen:

This letter is submitted on behalf of the American College of Bankruptcy ("the College") with regard to the recently revised "Guidelines for Reviewing Applications for Compensation & Reimbursement of Expenses Filed Under Chapter 11 U.S.C.§330 by Attorneys in Larger Chapter 11 Cases" (the "Revised Guidelines").

The College is an honorary association of bankruptcy and insolvency professionals. Its Fellows include commercial bankruptcy attorneys, consumer bankruptcy attorneys, corporate turnaround specialists, bankruptcy trustees, investment bankers, insolvency accountants, law professors, judges, government officials, appraisers and others involved in the bankruptcy and insolvency community. Nominees are extended an invitation to join based on a proven record of the highest standards.

The College is aware of the comments on the Revised Guidelines that have been submitted by the National Bankruptcy Conference. The College fully endorses those comments.

Yours very truly,

Edwin E. Smith, Chair Bankruptcy Policy Committee On behalf of the American College of Bankruptcy

EES/js